Turnover release new song ‘Tears Of Change’

This post was originally published on this site

TURNOVER have released a brand new song!

The new song, titled Tears Of Change, is taken from the Virginia-based band’s upcoming new album, Myself In The Way, which is scheduled to be released in November this year, via Run For Cover Records.

Listen to Tears Of Change here: 

Since 2012, the band has been touring full time, averaging 200 shows each year. In their time away from the road, the band had the opportunity to explore and deepen aspects of their lives that they hadn’t been able to in the past. “I tried to be as positive as possible about the change in my life. Instead of thinking about the things covid was taking from me I wanted to focus on what it could give me,” says singer Austin Getz.

Over 18 months TURNOVER weaved these individual experiences into a collective work, recording the LP over two sessions with longtime collaborator Will Yip at Studio 4. Austin is credited, for the first time, as co-producer. “I had specific ideas for sound design on this album. I knew a lot of sounds I wanted to hear and use. We wanted everything to be able to be heard and have its own place. I was inspired by the way Magical Mystery Tour and Dark Side Of The Moon sounded. We decided to go a lot wider with it and utilize panning and stereo more than we had in the past, while also wanting it to sound tighter and smaller than some of our earlier records. We were inspired by drum and bass sounds from Chic and Quincy Jones records from the 70s, so we put the drums in the control room to get them to sound smaller. We used an active pickup bass and a jazz bass to get that percussive sound from the bass so the low end wasn’t as rumbling and ‘subby.’ We let the synths share some of that low end that the drums and bass gave up. Quincy‘s approach to arrangements were a huge inspiration in this record as well. The horn and string lines I wanted to sound like classic era disco, mixed with modern synth and vocal sounds. I had been experimenting with my own vocal styles a lot and utilized autotune and vocoder on this album almost as instruments on certain songs as a stylistic choice.”

Also, you can view both the track list and artwork for the upcoming new album below:

Track List: 

1. Stone Station
2. Tears of Change
3. Myself in the Way (feat. Brendan Yates)
4. Wait Too Long
5. People That We Know
6. Mountains Made of Clouds
7. Ain’t Love Heavy (feat. Bre Morell)
8. Pleasures Galore
9. Stone Station Reprise
10. Fantasy
11. Queen in the River
12. Bored of God / Orlando

Myself In The Way - Turnover

Myself In The Way is set for release on November 4th via Run For Cover Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on TURNOVER like their official page on Facebook.

The post Turnover release new song ‘Tears Of Change’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like