Sunrot announce new album ‘The Unfailing Rope’

This post was originally published on this site

SUNROT have announced a new album!

Titled The Unfailing Rope, the upcoming sophomore album from New Jersey sludge and noise band is scheduled to be released in April this year and will be their first full-length release for Prosthetic Records. The album was recorded by Scot Moriarty at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey, and later mastered by Magnus Lindberg of CULT OF LUNA.

Speaking about the album announcement Ross Bradley (bass) comments, The Unfailing Rope is a document of grief and hope to reflect our current moment. This record was created while we firsthand experienced our city come to a reckoning with its people. Our planet being irreparably eroded, our communities being killed. But also a time where more people than ever are ready to fight back. A time where the most pain has also birthed the most righteous anger and action. The Unfailing Rope is the mantra of light and the path to death.”

Alongside the announcement of the album, the band have released a new music video for its lead single, titled Gutter.

On the new song, Bradley adds, Gutter is, likewise, a track full of grief and hope. Ecological genocide, like the proposed “cop city” destroying Atlanta forests, is more and more commonplace. The insatiable maw of colonialism and capitalism is driven toward ending life on earth for profit and will not stop unless we stop it. We believe that the land belongs to its indigenous keepers and must be ceded back to their stewardship. Gutter is a plea for action and an expression of hope that a better world is possible, and maybe not even just possible, but inevitable, if that’s what we choose.”

Watch the official for Gutter here:

Also, you can view the track list and artwork for the upcoming album below.

Track List:

  1. Descent
  2. Trepanation
  3. Gutter
  4. The One You Feed
  5. The Cull
  6. Patricide
  7. Tower of Silence
  8. Love

The Unfailing Rope - Sunrot

The Unfailing Rope is set for release on April 7th via Prosthetic Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on SUNROT like their official page on Facebook.

The post Sunrot announce new album ‘The Unfailing Rope’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like