October Ends announce new album ‘PHASES’

This post was originally published on this site

OCTOBER ENDS have announced a new album!

Titled PHASES, the upcoming album from the rising Newcastle-via-Athens metalcore band is the follow-up to 2020’s Zodiac, and is scheduled to be released in October this year, via UNFD.

“When we started writing for our new album, one thing we had in mind was that we wanted to mix up our guitar configuration and experiment with new keys and tunings,” the band explains about their approach on the new album. “In particular, we decided to introduce seven string guitars on the album, which is something we’d never done before. This allowed us to tune lower than we have in the past and allowed us to explore new sounds and implement even heavier-sounding riffs.”

Alongside the announcement of the new album, OCTOBER ENDS have released a new music video for a new song lifted from the upcoming album; Of Stars. The new song is the third single to be released from the upcoming album, following on from Destroy Us All and Play Time, and was first premiered via Rock Sound.

Of Stars is one of the first songs we wrote for the album that uses seven string guitars. We wanted this track to have banging groovy riffs while being catchy and somewhat pop-like in the verses and chorus. This kind of balance is something that we strive to achieve when we’re songwriting because it captures what we love about music. There’s definitely flavours of modern emo in the song as that’s another influence we wanted to include,” the band shares about the new song. “We love to utilize the different vocal talents of the band and Of Stars actually features three of our vocalists — Nick, George, and Michael. Doing this can be tricky because you have to keep in mind each vocalists’ strengths, range, and sweet spots when you’re writing for them, and it’s not the case that each vocalist is always writing their own parts. For example, Nick, Michael, and Alex wrote the melodies/lyrics in this song. Nick and George both sing cleans, but they each have their own style and distinct voice. We think it really gets the best out of the band when you can hook them both up in a track. And then of course, George and Michael share the screams and they do a great job.”

Watch the official music video for Of Stars here: 

Also, you can view both the track list and artwork for the upcoming new album below:

Track List: 

  1. Destroy Us All
  2. Call Me Before I’m Dead
  3. R3KT
  4. Of Stars
  5. Play Time
  6. Hero
  7. Alive
  8. One More Round
  9. Lay Here
  10. Down

PHASES - October Ends

PHASES is set for release on October 28th via UNFD. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on OCTOBER ENDS like their official page on Facebook.

The post October Ends announce new album ‘PHASES’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like