Norma Jean announce new album ‘Deathrattle Sing For Me’

This post was originally published on this site

NORMA JEAN have announced a new album!

Titled Deathrattle Sing For Me, the new album from the American metalcore veterans is scheduled to be released in August this year via Solid State Records.

Speaking about the new album, vocalist Cory Brandan comments, “This record was really about banding together. It embodies the camaraderie of our brotherhood in NORMA JEAN. At the time, we needed something to do, and we wrote these songs for our own souls. The record was necessary to keep me alive in a very literal sense. It’s a deeper place.”

Alongside the announcement of the new album, the band have released a brand new music video for the album’s lead single Call For The Blood.

Commenting on the new song, Brandan continues, “Accept that everything is a draft. It helps to get it done. We banded together to make this record and to me, this song is the rallying cry. Composed by my brother, [co-producer] Matthew [Putman], this song was written around a single idea, altered heavily in post, and then mimicked by us. The studio and post-production elements acted as an instrument. The experimentation and the process behind this track was a major point of inspiration for many other things we ended up doing throughout Death Rattle Sing For Me. I feel like Matthew wrote this song with my voice in mind and I wanted to do something very unique over it. Dangerous rock ‘n’ roll! Blast it!”

Co-producer Matthew Putman adds, CFTB was one of the first songs where I felt like we were establishing a personality for the album. Even though it was constructed in the studio from manipulated ideas we captured during a ‘riff vomiting’ session with Grayson, it still has a very raw, live energy. The samples were all chosen in a very deliberate way for how they coloured the story behind the song (rebellious unity). There is nothing random about CFTB; every sound has meaning. This is one of my all-time favourite vocal performance from Cory, where he proves once again why he’s one of the best of his generation.”

Watch the official music video for Call For The Blood here:

Also, you can view both the track list and the artwork for the upcoming album below:

Track List:

  1. 1994
  2. Call For The Blood
  3. Spearmint Revolt
  4. Memorial Hoard
  5. Aria Obscura
  6. Any%
  7. Parallella
  8. W W A V V E
  9. A Killing Word
  10. Penny Margs
  11. el-roi
  12. Sleep Explosion
  13. Heartache

Deathrattle Sing For Me - Norma Jean

Deathrattle Sing For Me is set for release on August 12th via Solid State Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on NORMA JEAN like their official page on Facebook.

The post Norma Jean announce new album ‘Deathrattle Sing For Me’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like