Lande Hekt announces new album ‘House Without A View’

This post was originally published on this site

LANDE HEKT has announced a new album!

Titled House Without A View, the upcoming album from the alternative solo artist is the follow-up to last year’s Going To Hell, and is scheduled to be released in September this year, via Prize Sunflower Records.

Despite her debut album barely a year old, 2022 sees HEKT armed with a whole new collection of song-form vignettes and musings on her life and experiences. Kicking off where the last record left off, the opening track of new album is Half With You which “is about growing into yourself as a queer person, and enjoying who you are after not enjoying it for so long,” says Lande. Cut My Hair is about how her relationship with her gender has changed over the last few years, becoming more comfortable in herself and understanding more about what makes her happy. “It’s also about how easy it is to not talk to people when you’re struggling, which is something I did for a long time.”

The title track of House Without A View deals with childhood trauma and how events of our formative years “affect us so much into our adult lives and are intrinsic to our personalities and the way we cope (or don’t) with life and relationships,” says Lande. Although there’s darkness and sadness within the record, there’s also some shining beacons of positivity and a light-hearted side, albeit with a side of frustration. Lola was written about Lande’s cat shortly after she came to live with her and her girlfriend. “She’s the first pet I’ve ever had and I wasn’t quite ready for how hard it would be to not be able to verbally communicate with her. I worried constantly that she was depressed because all she did was sleep, but my girlfriend assured me that that was regular cat behaviour.”

Alongside the announcement of the new solo album, LANDE HEKT has released a new music video for a new song lifted from the upcoming album; Gay Space Cadets. Speaking about the new song, Lande says, “it’s a daydreaming song about wanting a life of excitement and adventure rather than a dull and ordinary life – one where people underestimate you and belittle you. And where you’re forced to buy into capitalism and become a pathetic, losing player in a game that you hate. I’d rather escape and live in a queer space fantasy and be brave.”

Watch the official music video for Gay Space Cadets here: 

Also, you can view both the track list and artwork for the upcoming new solo album below:

Track List: 

1. Half with You
2. Backstreet Snow
3. Cut My Hair
4. Gay Space Cadets
5. Always Hurt
6. House Without a View
7. Ground Shaking
8. What Could I Sell
9. Lola
10. Take a Break
11. First Girlfriend

House Without A View - Lande Hekt

House Without A View is set for release on September 23rd via Prize Sunflower Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on LANDE HEKT like their official page on Facebook

The post Lande Hekt announces new album ‘House Without A View’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like