Evergrey announce new album ‘A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament)’

This post was originally published on this site

EVERGREY have announced a new album!

Titled A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament), the upcoming album from the Swedish progressive power metal band is the follow-up to 2021’s Escape Of The Phoenix, and is scheduled to be released in May this year, via their new home at Napalm Records.

The upcoming new album was recorded at Top Floor Studios Gothenburg, engineered by Jakob Herrman and produced by Tom S. Englund and Jonas Ekdahl, with mixing and mastering by Jacob Hansen at Hansen Studios [VOLBEAT, DESTRUCTION, EPICA etc], whereas the hauntingly beautiful album artwork was conjured by Giannis Nakos at Remedy Art Design. Nakos is known for creating artworks for acts like OCEANS OF SLUMBER, AMARANTHE, THE AGONIST and THE CROWN as well as merchandise for MORBID ANGEL, SUFFOCATION or CRYPTOPSY.

Speaking about the upcoming album, the band says, “here it is! A new album! Yet again! This is what we love about music, it never ends! Our mission is to write music so here you are! 10 new songs! 10 new EVERGREY songs that we hope you will have by your side as your life continues to shift and grow. 10 songs that we wish will be part of the soundtrack when you’re creating new memories and new possibilities in your life. 10 songs that we feel privileged to have you listen to. 10 songs that have risen through the ashes of two years where our creativity has had more time than ever to flourish.

10 songs we really hope you will enjoy as much as we did writing them. As usual we have given it our best and we can’t wait to hear what you have to say! A new year, a new album, a new record label = new possibilities. All this can only be positive, right? Enjoy! Tom, Jonas, Rikard, Johan & Henrik.”

Alongside the announcement of the new album, EVERGREY have released a new music video for the first song lifted from the upcoming album; Save Us. For the new song’s accompanying music video, the band teamed up with long-time companion Patric Ullaeus. Speaking about the new song, vocalist/guitarist Tom S. Englund says, Save Us is about us. It’s about you and I. It’s about how I see our minds becoming hostages in a world where painting optimal portraits of ourselves is more important than being who we really are. It’s about my observation of watching people around me who are feeling that they’re not good enough for the world, or for themselves. I’m afraid we’re lost, and I think we need to help each other to find our way back to what is important, to rediscover a true sense of self. As we, as artists, also contribute to content and social media as a livelihood, it’s about the paradox of being caught in a world which is hard to free yourself from. I can only wish that our music brings some balance to that equation.”

Watch the official music video for Save Us here: 

Also, you can view both the track list and artwork for the upcoming new album below:

Track List: 

1. Save Us
2. Midwinter Calls
3. Ominous
4. Call Out the Dark
5. The Orphean Testament
6. Reawakening
7. The Great Unwashed
8. Heartless
9. Blindfolded

A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament) - Evergrey

A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament) is set for release on May 20th via Napalm Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here. The band will be touring the UK and mainland Europe in September/October this year, check out the tour dates here!

For more information on EVERGREY like their official page on Facebook.

The post Evergrey announce new album ‘A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament)’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like