Darkest Era announce new album ‘Wither On The Vine’

This post was originally published on this site

DARKEST ERA have announced a brand new album!

Titled Wither On The Vine, the upcoming album from the Irish dark metal band is the long-awaited follow-up to 2014’s Severance, and is scheduled to be released in September this year, via Candlelight Records.

Recorded at Wales’ Foel Studios with producer Chris Fielding [ELECTRIC WIZARD, WINTERFYLLETH, PRIMORDIAL, WITCHSORROW], the upcoming album intends to find the band taking their shadowy take on the traditional heavy metal sounds of IRON MAIDEN and THIN LIZZY, and adding elements of doom, black metal, blackgaze and anything else that casts a musical shadow.

Speaking about the upcoming album, guitarist Ade Mulgew says, “the album presents a bleak reflection of the world as it stands today; politically, socially, environmentally. Among themes of human tragedy and personal introspection, there are also songs touching on pagan spirituality, the Dionysian perspective and even gothic romance. Stylistically the album mixes black metal and doom metal elements with an almost classic rock sense of tone. We hope the album resonates with listeners seeking music with genuine power and emotional weight, pulling them into its dark visions.”

Speaking about the new song, Mulgrew adds, Floodlands is about human tragedy, and empathy in the face of chaos and despair. It was particularly inspired by the horrifying images and accounts we’ve seen over the last years of people forced to flee their homes and their lives in the face of war, famine, persecution and climate change. Following the outbreak of war in Ukraine the themes prove to be, sadly, ever relevant. We hope the song resonates with listeners with it’s crushing drive and sweeping melancholy.”

The music video for Floodlands was filmed on the north coast of Ireland against the wild and windswept backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. Director Anais Mulgrew says, Floodlands is the first of a series of three music videos written around the vision that DARKEST ERA’s new album brought to my head. The neverending tragedy of life, brought to the scale of the gods themselves. Everything withers, everything ends, while grief goes on forever, and the mourning creatures depicted in the video will work until the end of times as surely as the waves will keep crashing on the cliffs.”

Watch the official music video for Floodlands here: 

Also, you can view both the track list and artwork for the upcoming new album below:

Track List: 

1. One Thousand Years Of Night
2. Floodlands
3. A Path Made Of Roots
4. Tihonus
5. The Collapse
6. With Tragedy In Our Blood
7. The Ashen Plague
8. Wither On The Vine

Wither On The Vine - Darkest Era

Wither On the Vine is set for release on September 30th via Candlelight Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on DARKEST ERA like their official page on Facebook.

The post Darkest Era announce new album ‘Wither On The Vine’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like