D_Drive release new song ‘Wings’

This post was originally published on this site

D_DRIVE have released a brand new song!

Titled Wings, it is the second single to be taken from the Japanese instrumental rock band’s upcoming album Dynamotive, which is scheduled to be released in August this year via Marshall Records.

Speaking about the new song, guitarist Yuki comments, “I keep two budgies that are named ‘Lemon’ and ‘Rum’. This song is for them. When we were writing / recording the song we tried to personify the budgies in a musical form. Toshi, our bassist studied videos of budgies and tried to emulate their cries in his playing style. While Chiiko, our drummer tried to represent the flapping of their wings using unusual playing styles. I contributed in the fact that I wanted a 16th note guitar strumming initially before we moved into our trademark Driving Rock style. I think that we nailed it and I hope that I made ‘Lemon’ and ‘Rum’ proud!”

Listen to Wings here:

Dynamotive will see D_DRIVE explore the duality of life with songs being dedicated to the World Trade Center tragedy of 2001, the pandemic and it’s strangulating pull on the population, to the beautiful blossoming of the seldom known Ume tree (meaning Plum in Japanese).

You can view the track list and artwork by Shoji Umemura for the album below:

Track List:

  1. Red Light, Green Light
  2. Begin Again
  3. I Remember The Town
  4. Get Away
  5. Be Yourself
  6. Runaway Boy
  7. Thumbs Up
  8. Wings
  9. U_Me
  10. Breakout

Dynamotive - D_Drive

Dynamotive is set for release on August 26th via Marshall Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on D_DRIVE like their official page on Facebook.

The post D_Drive release new song ‘Wings’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like