Black Smoke Trigger announce debut album ‘Horizons’

This post was originally published on this site

BLACK SMOKE TRIGGER have announced their debut album!

Titled Horizons, the upcoming album from the New Zealand hard rock band is their debut full-length record, and is scheduled to be released in August this year, via self-release.

Speaking about the upcoming debut album, guitarist Charlie Wallace says, “we are beyond excited to finally release the album Horizons, it has been such a crazy journey to get to this point and we poured everything we have into it.”

Alongside the announcement of the debut album, BLACK SMOKE TRIGGER have released a new in-studio performance video for new song Sun Cries Red. The new song is the latest single to be taken from the upcoming debut album, following on from Learn To CrawlK.M.T.L.Proof Of LifePerfect Torture and The Way Down.

Speaking about the new song, Wallace says, Sun Cries Red came to life while we were in pre-production for the album Horizons. After the initial writing session, we stayed up all night recording the demo. Dan finished his bass part and went to bed, and the rest of us continued on in an alcohol-fuelled recording session. After going over and over the song, adding different layers in our AirBnb in Nashville, Dan burst out of his room absolutely pissed off that we had been going so long and so loud, which was kind of hilarious. We needed to finish the demo, so of course, we just continued on. A couple of days later, when I was recording the guitar solo in the studio, he said ‘Where did that solo come from!?’ which was possibly one of the funniest moments from recording the album. After explaining it was written when he was all pissed off that he couldn’t sleep, he said ‘well I didn’t realize you were writing epic stuff like that,’ it was good fun.

The song lyrically is about looking back at something that is important but neglected, seeing something in a shadow of its former glory. Continuing the recording process, producer Nick Raskulinecz suggested we experiment by adding a string section to the song, Josh ended up writing all those parts and it took the song to another level.”

Watch the official music video for Sun Cried Red here: 

Also, you can view both the track list and artwork for the upcoming debut album below:

Track List: 

1. Phantom Pain
2. K.M.T.L
3. The Way Down
4. Perfect Torture
5. Proof Of Life
6. Learn To Crawl
7. Set Me On Fire
8. Psycho
9. One More Chance (Don’t Let It Slip Away)
10. Never Dies
11. Sun Cries Red
12. Promise

Horizons - Black Smoke Trigger

Horizons is set for release on August 2nd via self-release. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on BLACK SMOKE TRIGGER like their official page on Facebook.

The post Black Smoke Trigger announce debut album ‘Horizons’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like