Battalions announce new album ‘King Of A Dead World’

This post was originally published on this site

BATTALIONS have announced a new album!

Titled King Of A Dead World, the upcoming album from the UK sludge metal band is the follow-up to 2018’s Forever Marching Backwards, and 2020’s Pure Humber Sludge, and is scheduled to be released in October this year, via APF Records.

Speaking about the upcoming album, bassist Matt Dennett says, “I was reading an article online about the decline of humanity, the battering of Earth’s resources, the financial and human cost of war, global warming etc, and how the world’s leaders are partly to blame. The article ended with ‘who wants to be the king of a dead world?’. I read that and it was a light bulb moment, I thought that’s a great song/album title, everyone agreed and it stuck straight away.”

The upcoming marks a change for the band in band members, production and album artwork, as vocalist Phil Wilkinson explains, “during the covid lockdowns, we underwent a personnel change, namely welcoming drummer Simon into the BATTALIONS fold, so with this we wanted to go for a whole new production process. We chose a brand new studio to us, Nø Studio in Manchester with producer Joe Clayton [PIJN], as we wanted a new sound after using Chris Fielding [CONAN] for all our previous efforts. King Of A Dead World is us returning to our roots, big groove rooted in a dirty DIY sludge and hardcore sound. In addition to this, we also chose a brand new artist for the album artwork – James Fenwick – to complete the ‘new start’ mentality we have all taken into the writing and recording of our fourth album.”

Alongside the announcement of the new album, the band have released the first song from the upcoming album; Diagnosis Fucked. Speaking about the new song, Wilkinson says, “I have always written about personal struggles, and this one is very personal lyrically. Diagnosis Fucked refers to my struggles with health issues, particularly being diagnosed with osteoarthritis and the mental anguish that came with that, but ultimately coming out the other side with help from good friends and horrible music. I’ve always been very open, lyrically and personally, about my struggles with mental and physical health, and this song is a representation of this. Along with that, we chose this as a first single as it encapsulates what BATTALIONS is all about – heavy music, big groove and hard hitting lyrics.”

Listen to Diagnosis Fucked here: 

Also, you can view both the track list and artwork for the upcoming new album below:

Track List: 

  1. Green Boots
  2. Coughing Nails
  3. Diagnosis Fucked
  4. Bones To Dust
  5. No Safe Place
  6. Parasite
  7. Light A Fire
  8. King Of A Dead World

King Of A Dead World - Battalions

King Of A Dead World is set for release on October 21st via APF Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on BATTALIONS like their official page on Facebook.

The post Battalions announce new album ‘King Of A Dead World’ appeared first on Distorted Sound Magazine.

You May Also Like