Americana Music Awards Names 2017 Nominees [FULL LIST]

Americana logoNominees for the Americana Music Association’s 16th Honors & Awards were announced Tuesday at Nashville’s Country Music Hall of Fame. The Milk Carton Kids’ Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan hosted alongside performances by Jason Isbell, Jerry Douglas and Drive-By Truckers’ Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley.


This year’s Americana Music Awards ceremony will be held Sept. 13th  at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium, during the Americana Music Festival and Conference Sept. 12-17.

2017 Nominees Include:

Album of the Year
American Band, Drive-By Truckers, Produced by David Barbe
Close Ties, Rodney Crowell, Produced by Kim Buie and Jordan Lehning
Freedom Highway, Rhiannon Giddens, Produced David Bither, Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell
The Navigator, Hurray for the Riff Raff, Produced by Paul Butler
A Sailor’s Guide to Earth, Sturgill Simpson, Produced by Sturgill Simpson

Artist of the Year:
Jason Isbell
John Prine
Lori McKenna
Margo Price
Sturgill Simpson

Duo/Group of the Year:
Billy Bragg & Joe Henry
Drive-By Truckers
Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives
The Lumineers

Emerging Artist of the Year:
Aaron Lee Tasjan
Amanda Shires
Brent Cobb
Sam Outlaw

Song of the Year:
“All Around You,” Sturgill Simpson, Written by Sturgill Simpson
“It Ain’t Over Yet,” Rodney Crowell (feat. Rosanne Cash & John Paul White), Written by Rodney Crowell
“To Be Without You,” Ryan Adams, Written by Ryan Adams
“Wreck You,” Lori McKenna, Written by Lori McKenna and Felix McTeigue

Instrumentalist of the Year:
Spencer Cullum, Jr.
Jen Gunderman
Courtney Hartman
Charlie Sexton


You May Also Like