You Are Here: Home » Features » MEKONG DELTA To Release 'In A Mirror Darkly' In April

MEKONG DELTA To Release 'In A Mirror Darkly' In April

For almost thirty years, Germany’s MEKONG DELTA has enjoyed an excellent reputation as an independent and exceptionally creative band in the world of progressive metal sounds. Albums such as “The Music Of Eric Zann” (1988) and “Pictures At An Exhibition” (1997) are considered classics of their kind. With their blend of prog metal, classical elements and thrash, the musicians are considered pioneers of a stylistic mix which has been emulated by a considerable number of epigones. Now the German quartet is set to unleash its latest recording: “In A Mirror Darkly” will be out on April 29 (one day earlier internationally).

Martin LeMar (vocals), Ralf Hubert (bass), Erik Adam H. Grösch (guitar) and Alex Landenburg (drums) recorded a total of eight songs for “In A Mirror Darkly”, including three instrumental numbers like the ingenious “Inside The Outside Of The Inside” with its diverse arrangements.

“Typically MEKONG DELTA, the new numbers all have a playing time of between five and seven minutes,” says MEKONG DELTA founder Ralf Hubert. “As far as I am concerned, that’s just the right time frame to gain sufficient stylistic depth without pushing the envelope or creating artistic ambiguities. I feel that we’ve once again found the right mix of complexity and uninterrupted leitmotiv.”

MEKONG DELTA recorded “In A Mirror Darkly” at the bandmembers’ respective home studios. The CD was produced by Hubert, while the spectacular cover artwork is expected to be borrowed from an animation created for the album.

Adds Hubert: “Thematically, the new recording will pick up where our 2010 release, ‘Wanderer On The Edge Of Time’, left off, although the new material is more loosely connected and only occasionally linked by little interludes.”

About The Author

Number of Entries : 45093

© 2016 Planet Six String

Scroll to top