You Are Here: Home » Events » Jerry Garcia Band: Fall 1989 – The Long Island Sound Due In December

Jerry Garcia Band: Fall 1989 – The Long Island Sound Due In December

Over the past few days we’ve come across a number of clues as to what the next Jerry
archival release will be thanks in part to the sleuths at Furthur.net and the PhilZone. According
to a report from MusicTap, Fall 1989: The Long Island Sound from The Jerry Garcia Band
featuring Bob Weir and Rob Wasserman
will be released on December 10 via ATO Records.

[Image via Wolfgang’s Vault]

While there isn’t any detailed information on the release available at press time, we’d
imagine the release contains both the Weir/Wasserman set and Jerry Garcia Band sets from
Nassau Coliseum on September 6, 1989. Bobby and Rob opened for the JGB on that night
in…you guessed it – Long Island. The MusicTap report is backed up by pre-sale links on
Amazon.com and CDUniverse.com. The
CDUniverse link states The Long Island Sound is only one disc, but with a list
price of over $30 on both sites, we can’t imagine it’s a single-disc release. One other
bit of evidence is that the Official Jerry
Garcia Facebook page
put out a call for images from JGB’s Fall ’89 tour.

Let’s look at the setlists from the three sets laid down at the Coliseum on that night:

Weir/Wasserman Set: Walking Blues, City Girls > Fever, Blackbird > When I Paint My
Masterpiece, Shade of Grey > The Winners > Easy to Slip > Bass Solo > Heaven Help the Fool

[via Dylan Stubs]

Jerry Garcia Band Set One: How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You), Stop That Train, That’s
What Love Will Make You Do, Mississippi Moon, I Second That Emotion, And It Stoned Me,

Set Two: Harder They Come, Dear Prudence, I Shall Be Released, Let It Rock, Evangeline,
That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day), Tangled Up In Blue

[via The Jerry Site]

As soon as more information on this release is revealed, we’ll be sure to let our readers

About The Author

Number of Entries : 16605

© 2016 Planet Six String

Scroll to top